Seventh On Opening Night At Lebanon Valley; Bachetti Wins

WEST LEBANON, NY – Lebanon Valley Speedway’s opening night was chilly and moist. The schedule was sped up to avoid rain and everything got in. Attrition was the name of the game in the Modifieds, but Andy Bachetti fought through the issues.

By virtue of winning his heat race, Mike King started from pole. The action started very early when Mike Keeler spun on the first lap in turn 1. Kyle Sheldon, Paul Gilardi and Matt Pupello were all collected.

One of the biggest battles in the heat races was one between defending champion Brett Hearn and Eddie Marshall. The veterans had a clean duel early in the evening and rekindled it in the feature. Hearn, who started sixth, appeared to have a fast car and tried to get to the inside of Marshall. Then, contact was made, spinning both drivers out.

Marshall was unable to restart due to a mechanical issue and was forced to retire. Hearn drove off, but dropped out due to steering issues.

On the restart, Bachetti immediately went to work on the longtime veteran. However, King was able to hold off Bachetti’s charges. The battle continued on for ten laps before Bachetti was able to get past on lap 13.

It was here that the attrition cranked up. Just as Bachetti took the lead, Kenny Tremont Jr. slowed from third with mechanical woes. Two laps later, it was King’s mount that dropped off the pace. Keeler and Steve Hough dropped out. As a result, Bachetti ended up with a four second lead over Kolby Schroder.

From here, Bachetti held on to take the opening night victory in his new No. 4. Afterwards, Bachetti was happy that he won, but still felt that he had room to improve.

“The car was ok tonight. Still feel like we have room to improve,” Bachetti said after the races. “For opening night, I’ll take it. Mike [King] was tough, I didn’t know if we were going to be able to get him. Everybody’s stepped their game up.”

Schroder held on for second, while Elmo Reckner finished a strong third. Keith Flach finished fourth and Rob Pitcher was fifth.

L&M Motors/Sayer’s Auto Wrecking Modified Feature Results (30 laps): 1) Andy Bachetti, 2) Kolby Schroder, 3) Elmo Reckner, 4) Keith Flach, 5) Rob Pitcher, 6) Chad Jeseo, 7) Kyle Armstrong, 8) Wayne Jelley, 9) Kyle Sheldon, 10) Olden Dwyer, 11) Brian Berger, 12) L.J. Lombardo, 13) Matt Pupello, 14) Demetrios Drellos, 15) J.R. Heffner, 16) Steve Hough. 17) Mike Keeler, 18) Mike King, 19) Kenny Tremont Jr., 20) Eddie Marshall, 21) Brett Hearn, 22) Paul Gilardi, 23) Kenny Aanonsen Jr., 24) Kyle Hoffman, 25) Denny Soltis, 26) Alan Houghtaling, 27) Chad Pierce, 28) Ray Hall Jr., 29) Frank Harper